Cost of education

Zeabot

Californium
Founder
Oct 25, 2013
I just finished reading http://chronicle.com/blogs/next/2011/09/18/what-the-lost-decade-on-wages-means-for-colleges-and-their-graduates/ . It's a real basic article outlining a problem I have been talking about for years. Essentially, it is saying with the recent downward spiral of incomes, colleges still insist they should increase their tuition. The debate rages on: with the cost of college at ridiculous prices, is it still worth it?

For things first, I must be upfront and say the gubment is paying my undergraduate tuition a la GI Bill, so my opinion is obviously swayed by the fact I am going to leave my undergraduate program debt-free. However, I'm going to take the easy way out and say, in general, it depends. I am studying a very specific science -- one which "on the job training" is not quite sufficient. On top of that, I am continuing onto graduate school to learn the intricacies of said science. So, I believe college is worth it in my case.

---- BUT ---- in general, I believe attending college is not quite worth it. Many majors prepare their students for very little once it comes to performing a job in the real world. In that case, the only reason for a college education is for minimal exposure on the topics you will learn on the job. On top of that, about half the classes taken in college are "general education" classes -- an extension of high school if you ask me. The problem, though, is the social norm to attend college. Therefore, it is almost necessary to have a degree to compete in many fields that would not necessarily require it -- or did not require it as little as 20 years ago.